Breaking the Good news…(#Part Two)

Being the father he is, being busy as usual out and about – I called him next. He seemed somewhat surprised but at the same time being very happy for me. I suppose the surprising part is that he probably didn’t expect it any sooner since we had been together for some time.

The next people in line was my sisters and brother. Whilst one sister was already thinking about wedding plans i.e. venues, time etc. The other was screaming down the phone with Awe. It’s not her personality to be doing that, so for me it was a special moment. Then the other sister crying and sobbing on the phone, I reassured her that I’m still alive and still talking to her. The brother seem expressionless, but I suppose boys will be boys. But also happy that his comment was a fruitful one – I’ve known your boyfriend half my life and now he’s finally my brother in law. I’ll take that as a compliment.

The next was my extended family. They are people who I cherish in my life. By the way we have a whats app group together and that’s how I announce it all in one go. These days it’s just so convenient.  I remember the conversation along the line was I gave them a small quiz. So took a decent picture of me and my finance and added a quotation “We would like to announce and share with our love ones our next chapter in life…what will it be?” A. Pregnant B. Engaged C. Moving to Hong Kong.

Since my siblings was in this conversation they said “I’m gonna be an auntie”. So apparently I’m pregnant! Nonetheless, after all the debate someone put a picture of a ring. That’s when I revealed that I am happy and engaged.

Moving on, my truest close friends were on the list. I wish they were in UK but thank god that there is whatsapp. Managed to have a phone conversation with the girls over the phone in Costa. These are the people who has seen our relationship develop from the beginning. Though at the point of talking and catching up in general, we can just talk all day. At that point my finance was hissing at me that I’m very loud. So truth be told, I quickly ended the conversation because I also had something to say to my finance “Happy Birthday”.

He said it was his goal that before he turns 28 he wanted to propose to me, so without even thinking that our engagement will steal the light of his Birthday he decided to propose to me. He is a very unselfish man, which is one aspect I like about him.

Our last place to announce was facebook and to be honest the next few days after the proposal was overwhelming we have had a lot of blessings from friends and family. And this is what makes life extra special.

The experience of announcing an engagement has been one that has shown me love. One that has let me know that those close to me –  family and friends are truly giving me blessings. By letting them know, it also means you would like them to be part of your life. I did it in the particular order of relatives as it shows the level of respect to each other.

Leave a Reply

